rotator cuff repair, how long?

jchambers

Feb 1, 2015
OK, put it off( rotator cuff surgery) so i could ride the summer, now it's done as of Friday. anybody else? (you know what I'm asking). How long before you were able to ride again, and how did it feel(how was the pain)?
Joel

I'd just take a bullet... JK!! Had mine last October. 6 months is the norm I think. Mine wasn't fully blown, but had 3 tears, one was the bicep they cut, drilled hole, reattached. Practice your day to day routine with one hand/arm to prepare (really), was the hardest thing for me. Had no feeling for 3 days, but had the ice machine for a week, was awesome. At 3 months started light rehab, moving the shoulder in the hot tub, light swimming felt the best. I think around 5 months I started riding again. Since been to Arkansas, Colorado and Tennessee.
I'm at the age I can't look the wrong way, or sneeze without pulling something ! But its good a new now. Best of luck Brother !

I had a S.L.A.P. tear and AC joint separation. I know its not the same, BUT if they prescribe you pain meds to take the day before, do it. I didn't and when the nerve block wore off it was horrible. Make sure you have a good recliner as you may not be able to sleep laying down. I couldn't for about 2 months and do your physical therapy as you will get back up to 100% took me about 6 months to be 100%

Good point about the recliner! got one before the surgery, was a lifesaver. Slept in it a few months too

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

I cracked up after I scrolled down and saw this post. A couple of things came to mind.....

Cleaning yourself after having your first #2 following surgery (especially if you are right handed and the surgery was on your right shoulder) was pretty interesting. Nine years later, though... I'm still using my left hand after a #2; can't get comfortable using the right hand for that task again.