Is the alarm siren an option?

Sealion

Feb 18, 2018
I took delivery of my SGS on Friday (“used” with 66 miles on it), so I am still learning about the bike. Best I can tell, it does not have the alarm siren. I know the owner’s manual lists the siren as an option, but I know of two 2011 Softails and 2017 Road Glide that came with sirens, so I assumed my bike would have it also.

What is the right answer here? Is the siren an option or standard gear?

It's an option. You can also get a pager but you have to get the siren for the pager to work.

I was surprised to find out too, amount of money we pay for our bikes and don't even include decent alarm system, we have to pay extra for it. Almost every vehicles on the market comes with alarm, I am talking about vehicles prices $15k and up. HD models should be the same, way over priced and they nail you for everything else, I don't know about the rest of you, I seek for aftermarket parts, unless I find a deal of a life time I refused to buy HD parts.

Yes this is one of the things they make money on during or after the sale. I have a peso alarm from radio shack I think we paid 6 dollars for it. Easy install and somewhere on this forum is a thread with instructions. Use the search feature in the upper right corner to find it.

Thanks all for the clarification.

When I bought my last bike, it was five years old (and my first bike), so my expectations were different. One theme I read often in this forum is the “This should be a standard item” idea. I get that now and I am on board.

I was less concerned about the security of my ’05 Road King than I am about the SGS, which is why I asked the question in the first place.

Having said all that, what are the thoughts on having a siren? Worthwhile or too much of a pain? (JokerToker’s vote noted!)