Exhaust reccomendations

gcnoserider

Jun 21, 2017
I have been out of "the game" for many years. I bought a new Lo Rider in '91 and had it for 5 years. I bought an '03 Softail Heritage Classic this February in immaculate condition with 24k miles. It has V&H pipes and sounds loud and mean. I just bought a '17 Street Glide Special that sounds pretty tame. Any suggestions on pipes / slip-ons would be appreciated. One person from the dealership suggested 2 into 1 with a ghost pipe. I don't necessarily have to sound loud and mean but I'd like to increase performance. I'm still a rookie so to speak but I'm stoked on riding again. Thanks! Pray for surf.

Welcome to the fun. There are more choices coming along every day for the new M8 engine.

Hi,

I went with the Vance & Hines 4" Twin Slash slip-ons. I really like the look and to me, V&H makes a very high quality product. I left the rest of the motor completely stock. The bike ran great and the pipes made the bike sound a good bit better, but it had a drone at cruising RPM's that I did not like. So, after researching a lot on the internet, I elected to try the quiet baffles that V&H offers for these slip-ons. It was the perfect solution, for me anyway.

The sound is just enough to have what I consider a 'legit' Harley sound, with no drone or excess noise. You can hear both the pipes, and the stereo. The only issue was that the baffles upped the cost of the system a bit...but in the end well worth it. If I later decide to go with a full exhaust and intake system, these will still stay on the bike.

Good luck,

JJ

I run the Rinehart Slimlines. I can't say anything bad about them. However, I would highly recommend calling Steve at Fullsac and looking at his applications. He seems to get great performance and sound from his systems. That would be where I would go based on so many other posts out there on this topic.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk